You are here

Home About Us Organisations Ganga Flood Control Commission (GFCC)

Ganga Flood Control Commission (GFCC)

GFCC, a subordinate office of Department of Water Resources, RD & GR, Ministry of Jal Shakti, with its headquarter at Patna, was created in the year 1972 to deal with floods and its management in Ganga Basin States vide Govt. of India Resolution No. F.C. 47 (3)/ 72 dated 18th April 1972, as secretariat and executive wing of Ganga Flood Control Board, headed by Hon’ble Union  Ministry of Water Resources, Chief Ministers of basin States or their representative and Members, Planning Commission, are the members of the Board, Chairman, GFCC acts as the Member- Secretary of the Board.

 The Commission is headed by a Chairman, who is assisted by two full time Members, four Directors and 94 nos. supporting staff. In addition, there are 19 sanctioned posts of work-charged staff. The representative of the concerned Central Ministers as well as Chief Engineers of the basin States are either part-time Members of permanent invitees of the Commission.

Ganga Flood Control Commission (GFCC) Carries out several activities as outlined below:

  • Preparation and updating of comprehensive plan of flood management.
  • Techno-Economic Appraisal of Flood Management Schemes.
  • Assessment of adequacy of waterways under roads and rail bridges.
  • Programming of implementation of flood management works.
  • Framing of guidelines for quality control and maintenance.
  • Monitoring of all flood management schemes funded by Central Govt. and important flood management schemes funded by Central Government.
  • Documentation and Dissemination of recommendation of special studies.
  • Performance evaluation of completed Flood Management Schemes.

Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, NCT of Delhi, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Utter Pradesh, and West Bengal are the Ganga Basin States.