You are here

Home About Us Organisations Brahmaputra Board

Brahmaputra Board

The Brahmaputra Board was set up under the Ministry of Irrigation (now renamed as Department of Water Resources, RD&GR, Ministry of Jal Shakti) by the Government of India under an Act of Parliament called ‘The Brahmaputra Board Act, 1980 (46 of 1980)’ for the planning and integrated implementation of measures for the control of floods and bank erosion in the Brahmaputra Valley and for matters connected therewith. The Board office started functioning with Headquarters at Guwahati with effect from 11th January 1982. The jurisdiction of the Board covers entire Brahmaputra and Barak Valley, spreading in all the States of the North Eastern Region including Sikkim and part of West Bengal falling under Brahmaputra Basin.The main functions of Brahmaputra Board are -

  1. Undertaking 'Survey & Investigation' in Brahmaputra & Barak Valley and preparation of Master Plans for control of floods, bank erosion and improvement of drainage in the Brahmaputra Valley and activities connected therewith, including development and utilization of water resources of the Brahmaputra Valley for irrigation, hydro power, navigation and other beneficial purposes,
  2. Preparation of Detailed Project Reports and estimates including   apportionment of cost among States in respect of the dams and other projects,
  3. Formulation of programme, in consultation with State Governments, for construction / implementation of dams and other projects identified in the Master Plans, approved by Government of India, in phases,
  4. Finalization of standards and specifications for construction, operation and maintenance of such dams and other projects and
  5. Construction, operation and maintenance of Multipurpose and other Water Resources Projects, identified in the Master Plans, on approval of Government of India.